top of page

Introduction to The Four Sacred Seasons of Wellbeing

Updated: Jul 1, 2023

All rights reserved © 2009, 2019 Louis Antonio Abate, D.C.

excerpted from JACM, v15 n5, 2009

The driving premises behind the care I provide call EpiHealing™. Think of EpiHealing as a meta model. There are several components within this meta model. The first of these is “The Four Sacred Seasons of Wellbeing™.”

Within our lives, and particularly, our healing, there are four unique rhythms or periods we undergo. These are referred to as the Sacred Seasons, and they include Discover, Transform, Awaken, and Integrate. The seasons are not correlated to the seasons of the year or the developmental seasons of our lives, although they may happen to correspond to those times. Here they relate to our readiness for reorganization. In this respect the Sacred Seasons don’t necessarily have to be sequential, however they do appear to be universal in human experiences and represent moments or periods in life.

Each Season will influence the type of energetic and resources we use: our thoughts, perceptions, behaviors, actions, as well as how we experience life. The season will influence not only the resources we have available but also our perception of and ability to utilize those resources. In one season a resource may be unavailable (or perceived as unavailable), while it is readily available and accessible in another season.

Understanding and living within or cooperating with a season will allow us to have a more effortless and productive experience and results. And living out of season will produce pain, discomfort, disappointment, and struggle. Just as you would not expect to plant seeds in winter and harvest the fruits in springtime, understanding the season you are in and its timing and rhythm are key to having a more rewarding, productive life.

After you learn the gifts inherent within the season it becomes easier to make conscious choices to support your reorganizing specific aspects of your life.

The first three seasons, Discover, Transform, and Awaken, represent the periods we cycle through during different stages of and circumstances in life. The fourth season, Integrate, represents the ability to know and consciously choose to occupy the combination of seasons called for in various circumstances or life changes. The ability to consciously combine the seasons represents a higher level of organizational integrity, complexity and communication in your life.

Beginning with the next newsletter I will discuss each season in greater depth.

Illuminare Wellness employs the Epstein Technologies of NetworkSpinal™, Somato Respiratory Integration™, within the EpiHealing™ model to empower individuals to have a greater quality of life while making sustainable change in their symptoms and concerns. Call for your appointment.

More information can be found in THE JOURNAL OF ALTERNATIVE AND COMPLEMENTARY MEDICINE Volume 15, Number 5, 2009, pp. 475–487

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page